TSA Graphic explaining "3-1-1" for the quart sized ziplock bag to go through security

The Art of Small Containers

Whether you travel a lot or a little, it is frustrating to decide what to put in the TSA required quart-sized ziplock bag.  A first world problem, no doubt about it, but part of our flight travel world.

Here’s what I do, and it works great.  

I have a quart-sized ziplock bag that I keep packed all the time with my liquids and gels.  What?!? you say – I have duplicates of  all my makeup, facial cleanser, mouthwash, etc?  Nope. I refill small recycled containers from the regular size supplies I routinely buy, and keep those filled small containers in a quart-size, see-thru, zip-lock bag in my always partially  packed day pack.

And all those small containers are free.

  1. Ask For Empty Sample Jars: When I routinely buy makeup at the local mall makeup counter, I ask for a few empty sample jars. I’m buying something so they are always quite happy to throw a few in my bag with what I bought. One of these little sample jars will hold more than two weeks worth of base makeup, or moisturizer, or foaming facial cleanser.  I just fill them up from the bigger containers I buy routinely.
  2. Take advantage of the specials where you buy the makeup that you were going to buy anyway, and for no extra money you get a cute little bag with travel size moisturizer, facial cleanser, mini-mascaras, mini-eyeshadows.  Key word – mini.  I literally cannot remember the last time I bought moisturizer or facial cleanser or mascara. And you get a wonderful cute little bag to keep other stuff organized — because your makeup is going into the quart sized bag and into your day pack.  I don’t even usually take the travel sized version from the free gift with me on trips.  I fill up the little jars and leave the tubes at home.
  3. If you are staying at a hotel you can reap the joy when the room is cleaned. Hopefully we are all environmentally conscious and don’t have the room cleaned every day . The thing is,  one of the little shampoo/conditioner/moisturizer bottles will last three days, so I use what’s in them and then save the EMPTY containers for those trips where I am NOT staying in a hotel.  Yes, my relatives have shampoo and conditioner, but I like my own brand better, don’t you?
  4. I love the little plastic containers and lids that sweet and sour sauce comes in.  Hot water and soap clean them right up and instead of plastic sitting around in landfills for a hundred years, I receive them and use them for cotton balls and large safety pins. At home AND on the road.

Next up: Packing the Zip-Lock Bag.

3 thoughts on “The Art of Small Containers

  1. Pingback: Sky Food: The Rule of 5 | Sky Sense

  2. Pingback: First Flight | Sky Sense

  3. Pingback: La Toilette du Travel | Sky Sense

Leave a comment