Fly Happy Kit

Crying babies? Too much turbulence?  Newlyweds showing a little too much PDA (public display of affection)? Too bright? Need food? Blistering headache?

This little kit is not difficult or expensive to put together, and it is a permanent resident of my daypack. It is so useful that I have an identical one that sits on my nightstand to solve the same problems you often encounter in the air.

Contents fit in this pretty little 6″ x 3″ x 1″ bag I got for free as a gift with purchase at my local cosmetics counter.

1. Blackout eye mask:  Key word BLACKOUT.  Helps with sleep, glare when your seat partner wants to look out the window, and headaches.

2. Ear plugs: Remarkably, most earplugs will remove conversation and babies crying, but still let in the pilot should he make an announcement or the flight attendant’s inquiry when the beverage cart rolls by.

3. Earbuds:  This is my EXTRA set of earbuds.  I can’t imagine the horror of severe turbulence without a little calming soundtrack from Out of Africa.  Should my primary earbuds fail, I’ve got a back up.

4. Toothbrush: The odd orange and red plastic item is a folding toothbrush, discreet and handy.  It snaps open and the bristles unfold for brushing, and fold back in making it half the size for stowing. Has little air holes in the top to let the brush dry out. Miss Manners requires good in-flight dental hygiene. If your seat partner turns out to be Ryan Gosling, you want to be prepared.

5. Dental floss: This has a variety of uses, including the obvious one of not smiling with a piece of spinach stuck in your teeth. I have tied together a blouse when the button popped, used it as a headband, and secured baggage zippers with dental floss. Handy.

6. Hard candy: If you miscalculate, one or two of these will usually stop your tummy from growling until its time to land.

There’s room to spare – as I wrote this I decided to add my travel tube of ibuprofen and a handkerchief for my trip tomorrow.

Let me know how this works for you!

2 thoughts on “Fly Happy Kit

Leave a Reply

