Where Am I?

I have a confession to make.  Sometimes I wake up in the night and have no idea where I am.

Where Am I?

It’s a side effect of nearly constant travel.  Even in my own bed at home, I will wake up in the darkest part of the night and have to spend a couple of seconds remembering where I am and where the door is before staggering to the kitchen for a glass of water.

I swear that the United gates at EWR look just like the United gates at SAN.  Every time I de-plane at one or the other I’m confused for a second, until I see the Earl of Sandwich and re-orient to the East Coast.

At first, this scared me.  But now I realize a kind of peaceful joy  when it happens.  I never dreamed I’d get the chance to travel so much it would confuse my sleeping mind. That I may be dreaming about Hawaii or Barbados and wake up in San Francisco or Barcelona or Prague. What a grand confusion! What an unexpected blessing.

And let’s face it. It’s funny.

Leave a Reply

