DeGrazia - Skull

Tucson: Art in the Desert

My final destination after the IAH-Houston International walking tour was the desert city of Tucson, AZ.  It is such an interesting mix of people and nature – always a backdrop of mountains: The Tucson Mountains to the west, the Santa Catalina Mountains to the north, the Rincon Mountains to the east, and the Santa Rita Mountains to the south.

Amazing scenery, and incredible cuisine, the Biosphere (which merits a blog post all its own), The Saguaro National Forest, DeGrazia Gallery – Tucson is a surprisingly mix of urban oasis, southwest country (the bola tie is the official state neckwear), and serious science (home to the National Solar Observatory and just a short drive from the Biosphere).  And to top it off, only a short drive and you can go indoor and outdoor skydiving.  I liked it so much the first time, I’m going back again in a few weeks!

4 thoughts on “Tucson: Art in the Desert

  1. Pingback: 2009 and 2010 Spring in Tucson and at Dos Cabezas | A Mad and Faithful Song

  2. Hola!

    Love the photos. They capture the art of the desert beautifully. I am glad you were able to visit Tucson. It is a great city in a great area. I am a native Tucsonan and love my homeland very much.

    I am also fascinated by the theme of your blog. I love everything about planes and flying, though I don’t get to fly often enough. One of my “things” is to listen to the flight to tower Air Traffic Control stream from the Tucson International Airport. I even understand some of the communications.

    Thanks again for sharing the great photos of Art in the Desert with all of us.

    Con regard,

    Athena
    thecallithumpian.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

